Schengen Visa for Indian Tourists

Adventure, Things to Do , , , ,

What is the Schengen Visa and where is it applicable?

The Schengen Visa is a travel document appropriated by the Schengen area countries for the tourists who wish to travel in these areas. This visa is applicable for every individual from and outside the Schengen region for their stay.

The Schengen area includes most of the twenty-eight European Union (EU) countries. Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania are legally obliged to join the area. However, the Republic of Ireland and the United Kingdom have opted out. The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland are not members of the EU but have signed the Schengen Agreement. The microstates of Monaco, San Marino, and Vatican City are considered members even though they are not legally bound by an agreement.

What is the Schengen Visa procedure?

At first, the application form needs to be downloaded and completed. Along with those documents such as 2 passport size light background photos, the passport, travel visa insurance and copies of other visas with a 3 month validity needs to be attached. Proof of civil status, proof of accommodation, sufficient financial aid for the stay and the flight itinerary must also be included. A cover letter stating the purpose of visit and the itinerary need to be disclosed too. Other documents many vary depending on the designation of a person, for example, employed self-employed, student, retired etc.

This is valid for all Indian citizens and residents

What are the usual varying aspects of the Schengen Visa?

Price is an aspect that is subjected to vary.

Visa examinations usually include an interview with the concerned party.

The processing time may take 15 days or more so it’s best to apply for the visa in advance before the travel date.

The tourist is given the visa to stay in the Schengen areas for the number of days the travel is planned for by the tourists.

It is helpful to know if an appointment needs to be booked with the embassy concerned during the final processing of the visa.

Every country might have its own internal requirements while approving a visa, hence it is impertinent to check an official site while applying for the Schengen Visa.

Which type of Schengen Visa to obtain?

The different types of Schengen Visas cater to the different reasons one is likely to visit the Schengen area.
The Uniform Schengen Visa permits an individual to travel or reside in the area for a maximum of 90 days every 6 months starting from the date of entry.

The Limited territorial validity visa allows the traveller in the Schengen country that issued the visa. In certain situations, it can also be applicable if other Schengen countries are specifically mentioned while applying.

Author: GoFro Travelers’ Network

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *